The Poetry Society of New Hampshire

is a non-profit membership organization that promotes poetry through the publication of books, a quarterly magazine, The Poets Touchstone, open mics, workshops, contests, a monthly calendar of events, collaborations with other artists, and assisting the Governor in selecting the State Poet Laureate. Last year we sponsored or supported events in libraries, art galleries, parks, theaters, and on the radio. We welcome all poets and lovers of poetry.

A Brief History

The Poetry Society of New Hampshire was incorporated in the early 1960's and granted non-profit status soon after. Its primary locus of activity at that time was Manchester, NH, where many of the founding members lived. The society experienced many ups and downs and alarms, but began to refocus its energies in the 1990's and, as a result, grew from a paltry 16 members to the nearly 250 members it has today. Members are the lifeblood of the organization allowing us to do the work we do.

We meet the last Saturday of the months of January, April, July and October, and all are welcome. The July meeting is our annual meeting where we conduct whatever business is necessary. At the other three we have featured readers or workshop leaders. All offer members a chance to read during an open mic. To encourage readers we offer small door prizes. The PSNH is a 501(c)3 Incorporated in the State of NH.

Like us on Facebook

Contact us

Email us at
or mail to 170 Browns Ridge Road, Ossipee, NH 03864

Alice Fogel Named New Hampshire Poet Laureate

Alice FogelNew Hampshire's Executive Council confirmed Governor Maggie Hassan's nomination of Alice B. Fogel of Acworth, N.H, as the next New Hampshire Poet Laureate. Fogel will serve a five-year term beginning January 2014. The state's poet laureate serves as an ambassador for all poets in New Hampshire and works to heighten the visibility and value of poetry in the state.

Learn more here.

How to Join the Poetry Society of New Hampshire

Dues for one year are $25.
Junior (eighteen years of age or under) and Student (any person who is enrolled as a student in an accredited academic institution) Memberships for one year are $10.
Send in your information (Name, Address, Phone, E-Mail) with your check payable to "Poetry Society of NH" to:

Gordon Lang, PSNH Treasurer
170 Browns Ridge Road
Ossipee, NH 03864

Please include a short bio and a couple poems we might use to introduce you to other members in The Poet's Touchstone. We would love to learn your thoughts on poetry, who your favorite poets are, how you heard about us, and why you decided to join.

Board of Directors

  • Kyle Potvin President
  • Neil English Vice President
  • Gordon Lang Treasurer
  • Betsy Snider Secretary
  • Don Kimball Member
  • Joann Duncanson Member
  • Meg Kearney Member
  • Jennifer Militello Member
  • Mark Palos Member
  • Dudley Laufman Honorary President
  • John Ferguson Editor
  • Pat Parnell Associate Editor
  • Tammi Truax National Contest Coordinator
  • Helen Duchesne Member Contest Coordinator
  • Tom Diegoli High School Student Contest Coordinator
  • Barb Bald Elementary Student Contest Coodinator
  • Barbara Duris Round Robin Coordinator
  • Yamilé Craven Poetry Email Workshop
  • Don Kimball Monthly Open Mic Host